Development regions

The development regions refer to Romania’s regional subdivisions created in 1998 to co-ordinate de regional development necessary for Romania to accede to the European Union.
Romania’s development regions correspond with the level divisions NUTS– II from EU. Although they become more and more important in the domain of regional development, these regions do not have an administrative status, because they do not have a legislative board or an executive body. The development regions are not territorial- administrative units, do not have a political personality, being the result of a free agreement between the county’s councils and the local ones. Their function is to assign PHARE funds from EU, for the regional development, and to interpret and search the regional statistics.
Furthermore, the development regions co-ordinate the regional infrastructural projects and shall become members of the Committee of the Regions when Romania will accede to EU, event expected for 2007.

Romania is divided in eight development regions, named according to their geographical position in the country:

  • North-West
  • North-East
  • South-West
  • South-East
  • South
  • West
  • Center
  • Bucharest and Ilfov